Wine Review – 2000 Quilceda Creek Cabernet Sauvignon, Columbia Valley, Washington

I had to use a trade picture of the most recent vintage, because I didn't save the bottle.  I promise, we really did drink the 2000 vintage of this wine.

I had to use a trade picture of the most recent vintage, because I didn't save the bottle. I promise, we really did drink the 2000 vintage of this wine.

Winery: Quilceda Creek Winery

Bottling: 2000 Cabernet Sauvignon

Region: Washington

Sub-Region: Columbia Valley

Estimated Retail Price: I’m sure well over $100 on retail shelves and the open market for this back vintage wine.

Purchase Details: My buddy told me he found this on the shelves at Longs’ Drugstore for $60.  This was either going to be the steal of the century or the dud of the millennium.

Tasting Notes: Prior to opening the bottle, I couldn’t believe it was going to be the second time I was going to have the opportunity to taste the same vintage of this wine.  I must have done something right in this universe to deserve another opportunity.

On the nose, molasses, earth and dark fruits.  The wine smelled rich and powerful but there was still a sense of elegance and femininity that floated up into my nostrils.

Upon the first sip from both of us, the first words from my buddy’s mouth was “ooh, me likee.”  Simple, but sufficient.  With pinot-like lightness, this wine’s weight was very deceiving in the initial sip, but then there was a rush of fruit that filled the mid-palate with a graceful surge that eventually led to what seemed like the longest finish I’ve ever experienced in recent memory.

As far as flavors go, more molasses, plum, blackberries and cassis.  The tannins had softened up a lot from the last time I tasted this vintage about one year prior.  They were some of the burliest and harshest ones I remember ever experiencing.

Food Pairing & Context in Which to Enjoy: If everyone had a rack of lamb and a taste of this wine, the world would be a better place.

Winery & Other Background Information: I haven’t had too many experiences with this wine other than knowing that hard-core collectors coveted this wine like it was going out of style.  At least that’s what my experience was as a retail wine store owner.

It was actually impossible to receive an allocation of this wine to sell from the local distributor as I was literally told up-front from the rep “there is no way I was ever going to get this wine unless other accounts decline their allocation.”  Thanks.

The Golitzins are the family that owns this venerable winery and have been making wine since 1978.  They’ve received perfect 100 point scores on three separate occasions from famed wine critic Robert Parker Jr.  The winery’s reputation is built upon its amazing ability to consistently turn out brilliant, age-worthy wines that collectors around the world go crazy for.  In order for you to go crazy for it too, you have to join the hundreds of people that are currently on their waiting list and hope that you get an offer sometime in your lifetime.  Good luck.

Leave a Reply

