Quick Sip Wine Review – 2005 Marc Kreydenweiss “Perrieres” Costieres de Nimes, Rhone Valley, France

KreydenweissPerrieresFrontI did a little bit of a double-take when I saw this wine on the shelf, because if my memory served me right, Marc Kreydenweiss is a well-known producer of wines from Alsace.  This was a Costieres de Nimes, red, grenache-syrah-mourvedre blend that’s nowhere near an Alsatian white wine.

Nevertheless, I promptly grabbed this off the shelf.  Even though I haven’t posted very many reviews on Cotes du Rhone, Languedoc, Southern France regional red blends, I’m a big fan of these value priced, “cheap” bottles of wine.  I never hesitate to grab one off the shelf.  They’re great to have around the house for any occasion.  Note to yourself, lots of great wines $15 and under can be had from these regions.

This particular wine is a blend of 20% Syrah, 20% Grenache and 60% Carignan.  This wine was indeed a gulper and is what I would have normally expected from a blend from this region.  On the nose, mostly black fruits, pepper and spice.  Dark plum, dark raspberries, spice, garrigue and lavender on the palate.  My only complaint is that the wine could have used a little more flesh in the mid-palate for my tastes.  It seems as if the finished wine was consistent with the blend though, as it was a majority proportion of Carignan in place of where you normally see Mourvedre, which is what usually provides a mid-palate in wine.

The wine is imported into the U.S. by Wilson Daniels.  I paid $12.79 + tax for this wine from Tamura’s on Oahu.

Leave a Reply

