Wine Review – 2006 Cep Pinot Noir, Sonoma Coast, California

ceppinotnoir

Kind of a scary looking label that implies mysteriousness doesn't it?

Winery: Cep

Bottling: 2006 Sonoma Coast Pinot Noir

Region: California

Sub-Region: Sonoma Coast, Sonoma

Estimated Retail Price: $25

Purchase Details: Paid $22 and change at Tamura’s Fine Wine & Liquor on the island of Oahu

Tasting Notes: Juicy and clean are the hallmarks of this 2006 Cep Sonoma Coast Pinot Noir.  Its been two vintages in a row now that I’ve had this wine, and I have been quite pleased with both vintages.  It’s not a super complex, thought-provoking pinot, but when you’re shelling out $22 for a Sonoma Coast Pinot Noir delivering this kind of quality, you can’t really complain.

Lots of strawberry, dark cherries, red cherries and a hint of earth.  Juicy nose, juicy and medium weight mouth feel and a refreshing acid backbone made this wine very appealing.

It would be a great gulper, even slightly chilled like a Beaujolais.  Winemaker, if you’re reading this, this wine is perfect at standard red wine serving temperatures.  There was just something about it that made me want gulp it down cold.

Food Pairing & Context in Which to Enjoy: As I said, this wine was a gulper, so food was not really necessary.   All you need is a back porch and a stool to kick your feet up on to enjoy this wine.

Winery & Other Background Information: This wine looks to be one of those phantom winemaker, unknown vineyard source, elusive winery kind of bottlings.  You just can’t find any information on it anywhere.

The only reason I even know anything about it was when we had our store, we were able to get some inside industry information on who the winemaker was.  If you want to find out who he/she is, drop me an email and I’ll let you know.  Geez, as I write this, I’m feeling a little silly playing “You didn’t hear it from me” kind of games.

4 thoughts on “Wine Review – 2006 Cep Pinot Noir, Sonoma Coast, California

    • Yes I am indeed certain by now. Thanks for visiting the blog Heidi. If this is Heidi of great wine making fame, love your wines and I am honored by your visiting the blog. –Andre

  1. Where can I get this wine? I had the 2007 Pinot and loved it with a pork tenderloin in a restaurant, but cannot find it anywhere.

Leave a Reply

