Quick Sip Wine Review – 2005 Trimbach Gewurztraminer, Alsace, France

Trimbach Gewurztraminer will always be emblazoned in my mind as one of the wines that I will never forget.  I remember that I bought my first bottle of it for approximately $13 at the neighborhood Beverages and More superstore, mainly because I was intrigued by the name.  This was around 1999 when I first started drinking wine.  I remember how I was completely baffled, blown away and perplexed all at the same time at what I was drinking.

When I first read about gewurz, as it so affectionately called by some, I remember how it was described as a grape people will always either love or hate.  I of course loved it for all of its characteristic heady aromas, litchee fruit flavors and snappy dry finish.

trimbachgewurz

Almost every year since then, I’ve tasted this wine and have always reminisced about my early drinking days while sipping the wine.  This vintage, the 2005 is no different than the1997 vintage I tried back then.  It’s just as exotic in flavor and aroma.  Of course it’s gone up in price since then, but its still under $20 and is a great go to wine for Indian, Vietnamese or Thai food.  This gewurz and a riesling are Trimabch’s house or entry level wines.  The domaine also makes a host of excellent, more expensive, cellar-worthy grand crus as well.

Leave a Reply

