Wine Review – 2007 Neyers Old Lakeville Road Syrah, Sonoma, California

neyerssyrah07oldlakevilleWinery: Neyers Vineyards

Bottling: 2007 Old Lakeville Road Syrah

Region: California

Sub-Region: Sonoma

Estimated Retail Price: $30 – $35

Purchase Details: Purchased at Fujioka’s Wine Times for $29.99 plus tax.

Tasting Notes: If you recall, I reviewed the 2005 recently and gave it glowing remarks for its wonderful drinkability.  With that, I was excited to run out and buy the most recent release, the 2007 to see how it would be drinking.  I knew it was going to be a little premature to drink it now, since I already based on the style of the wine that it would need a little bit of time in the bottle, but I wanted to use this more as a test run to determine if I wanted to buy more bottles and sock it away in our cellar.

From the first whiff and sip, I knew this was going to be a good wine.  I could just feel it in my bones.  The color was an opaque, dark purple like a syrah should be.  On the nose, were berries and, spice and meat.  In the mouth, flavors of wild berries, black pepper, a little smoke and a long, clean finish and aftertaste.  This wine was mega tight and young as expected, but I was already beginning to extrapolate what I think this would taste like in a couple of years and I was getting excited.

The tannins were pretty fine grained and smooth, so drinking it early in its life wasn’t so bad.  I went out and recently purchased another bottle.  I think I should purchase one more.

Food Pairing & Context in Which to Enjoy: I really felt like lamb would be the best pairing for this wine, so I promptly went out and bought a couple of chops.  Salt, pepper and a little bit of love during the cooking process was all that was needed to make this a thoroughly enjoyable meal with the wine.

Winery & Other Background Information: As I mentioned in my previous post on the 2005, this winery is a great value for wines that can be either be drunk early or cellared for future fun.  As an example, this Lakeville Road syrah can be had for $30 bucks and cellared for 5-7 years.  Their syrahs are awesome, their chardonnays stupendous and their merlot, delicious.

Leave a Reply

