Home sweet home, prized catches – Fevre Chablis, Lynch Bages

Hello everyone.  It’s good to be back home in the islands.  Just got back yesterday from a very long vacation that actually allowed little time for blogging, so I apologize for not being more consistent with posting for the past couple of weeks.  I definitely drank some cool stuff during the break that I’m excited to share with you.  I’ll begin posting and sharing my notes with you in the upcoming days, but for now I just wanted to check back in.

Besides the joys of attaining a new-found title as an official uncle on this trip, I was also stoked at being able to bring home some really cool wines that I don’t normally find on the shelves back home that easily.  I read someplace, and excuse for not remembering, that wherever you travel you should always bring home wine purchased from a shop or business from the place you are visiting.  It doesn’t necessarily have to be wine that’s rare or hard to find.  It just needs to be a bottle or bottles that allows you to reminisce on the experience of where you were when you bought that particular bottle once it’s opened.  Those are the wine experiences you will always remember.

With that, here’s my catch:

  • 2005 William Fevre Chablis, Les Preuses, Grand Cru
  • 2006 Bruno Giacosa Nebbiolo d’Alba Valmaggiore di Mezza
  • 2005 Chateau Lynch Bages (At Costco in Woodland Hills; One of only two bottles left there, can you believe it?  80 bucks!)
  • 2006 Huet Vouvray Le Haut-Lieu Sec
  • 2000 Laurent-Tardieu Cornas (We’ll definitely drink this one soon)
  • 2007 Owen Roe “Sinister Hand” GSM Blend, Washington

With the exception of the Lynch Bages, I bought all of the wines from The Woodland Hills Wine Company; the shop I wrote about in my previous post.  Of course I didn’t drink any of them yet.  A few of these are bottles I want to lay down for a few years, or even decades in regards to the Chablis and the Bordeaux, but I’ll be sure to share them with you when I do open them.

Ever score any cool bottles on a trip someplace?  If you have, we’d like to hear from you.  Let us know in the comments section.

Leave a Reply

